The Team Fortress 2 TF2Maps community organizes a charity creation jam

A Team Fortress 2 charity campaign is organized in July by the community site TF2Maps for the benefit of the charity Médecins Sans Frontières. The event is scheduled to last for 72 hours from July 22-25 and encourages everyone in the FPS gaming community to join in and create TF2-related things to benefit the humanitarian organization.

The the rules are simple – all you have to do to enter is “create something for or about Team Fortress 2”. It can be something in-game or a real-world project, as long as it’s related to Valve’s free-to-play game. Some examples given are maps, models or mods that could be used in TF2, as well as “warpaints, animations, videos, paintings, drawings, fan fiction, woodwork, stonework , leg work, homework and everything in between.”

TF2Maps asks all participants to ensure that they do not work on the project outside the prescribed hours of 22nd of July at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. GMT at July 25 at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. GMT. The team points out that planning ahead is allowed, but you shouldn’t start creating your submission until the event is live. You can also use other people’s personalized content in your creation, according to the usual rules of TF2, as long as it is correctly credited.

More details can be found on the dedicated website TF2Maps Jam website, including a comprehensive FAQ. The team notes that if you are unable to participate during the designated time, you can instead apply to complete your creation at a time of your choosing – but ask that you limit yourself to the same 72-hour limit as everybody.

The TF2Maps team will be livestreaming during the event and showcasing in-game creations, including map test sessions to offer feedback on whoever is creating maps (which, as the name suggests, is the particular specialty of the group). Other community projects will also be showcased during the “Jam Ketchup” sessions during the event.

Meanwhile, Valve has responded to the recent #SaveTF2 campaign with several updates to Team Fortress 2 aimed at helping players get started with bots in their games.